Hutto appointed to Jay Town Council

To fill Wayne Godwin's unexpired term

Monday night, the Jay Town Council appointed Jay resident Mike Hutto as interim council member to fill former council member Wayne Godwin's seat after a two-year vacancy. Councilwoman Jane Hayes made a motion, which was seconded by Councilman Josh Holloway. The motion carried unanimously.

Godwin resigned his council seat April 19, 2021, when he moved out of the town limits.

"I feel honored to be on the Jay Council," said Hutto. "But I do think that I will bring the older crowd in and have a voice for them. I prayed about it, I asked my family about it and talked to people and I think it will w...