FES names first ever 'Teacher of the Year'

For the first time in the school’s history, Flomaton Elementary School has named a Teacher of the Year. The honor of receiving the award went to Heather Caraway on Feb. 6 in a presentation at the school.

Principal George Brown, Superintendent John Knott, School Board Representative Cindy Jackson, Sandra Reid, teachers, staff and students gathered to surprise Caraway with flowers, plaques, and a gift basket filled with all manner of prizes. Caraway was indeed surprised.

“When Coach Vickery said that I was needed in the principal’s office, that’s usually thought to be a bad thing,”...