No pistol permit is required after Jan. 1
Sheriff Jackson warns that felony can be charged in Florida without Alabama pistol permit
December 29, 2022
Beginning Jan. 1 residents in Alabama will no longer be required to have a permit to carry a concealed weapon with the state joining 21 others that no longer require permits or background checks.
The bill, passed earlier this year by the Alabama Legislature and signed by Gov. Kay Ivey, was opposed by the Alabama Sheriff's Association.
Until now, Alabama residents were required to go to their respective sheriff's office and purchase a pistol permit to carry a concealed weapon. The cost was $20 per year with the price dropping to $15 per year for residents 65 years old and older.
For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.